Acrylic Letter Opener

I stumbled across a piece of acrylic sheet in my  parts box and decided that it can be a good candidate for a Letter Opener. I decided to make a double edged model.

At first it went through a sanding disk process which gave it approximated dimensions.

More sanding with disk and hand; shape is more recognisable.

Even more sanding, with water this time.

The latest treatment was made with toothpaste.

This quick one evening project turned out quite like I visioned it. Material is almost clear and one can see throuhg it quite easily.

There are some minor cracks in the handle because this piece was a part of an old acrylic table desk and this specific part was on the edge. It has had some rough handling and therefore the cracks.

The future plan is to polish it more and add some engraving to the handle. However, small cracks inside the handle stays on despite how much I polish it. I guess they are decorative from now on..

 

Flashlight reveals that there is a lot more polishing ahead..

But I think it looks quite cool!

20181201_075321.jpg

Leave a comment